Entries tagged as ‘databases’
Comprised of Gale’s Nineteenth Century Literary Criticism and Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism Online lets you search or browse for articles on authors and literary works (from poems and plays to short stories and novels) and topics from the last two centuries. You can print or email the full-text articles as PDFs. Accessible from anywhere with your MySVA login.
Path: SVA.edu/library > Database and Article Searching > Online Databases
Filed under Humanities and Social Sciences > Literature Criticism Online.
Categories: Library Announcements · Tools & Resources
Tagged: databases
SVA once again has access to Corbis Education. The site continues to undergo revamping. We’ll keep you posted of any changes. For now access is still available once you create a free account using the subscription code. The code is the same so if you still have it, use it. If you need it contact Caitlin at the library.
Categories: Art & Design · Tools & Resources
Tagged: corbisphotos, databases
SVA faculty, students and staff will now have access to JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences III collection which includes full text articles from more than 150 journals on:
- the history and study of art and architecture
- film studies
- language and literature
- music
- folklore
- performing arts
- religion
Like all our other databases, JSTOR is accessible from the library website and MySVA.
Visit the JSTOR website for a title and date list.
Please contact a reference librarian with any questions.
Categories: Collection Highlights · Tools & Resources
Tagged: databases, reference, research
Search for editorial cartoons, photographs, advertisements, obituaries, the front page, comics and cartoons, the weather, and of course articles and much more all the way back to the venerable paper’s inception in 1851. Unlike the New York Times website, when you access the Historical New York Times from the Library’s website you will get full-page and article scans. So click here and start searching.
To navigate to the Historical New York Times:
- Go to the Library website (www.sva.edu/library)
- Select ‘Database and Article Searching’ or Find
- Choose ‘Online Databases’
- Scroll down to ‘Newspapers’
Categories: Collection Highlights · Tools & Resources
Tagged: databases, Newspapers, newyorktimes
Corbis is Dying Dead!
No not the giant image company but rather the subset they made of their gazillions of pictures for students to use called Corbis Education. According to a letter the library received ‘The Corbis Education Program is undergoing significant enhancements in 2007. The current subscription code based program will be discontinued as of 10/31/07. Your current subscription ends on 9/1/07.’ Here’s where is gets interesting. It looks we still have access. So get your high resolution images while they last. As soon as they are done with their ‘enhancements’ and relaunch the product, we will be sure to start a subscription. In the mean time check out the other online image databases you have access to on the library’s website <http://www.sva.edu/sr/index.jsp?sid0=258&sid1=262&page_id=602>. Or, go totally analog and visit the library’s picture collection <http://www.sva.edu/sr/index.jsp?sid0=258&sid1=263>.
Categories: Library Announcements · Tools & Resources
Tagged: corbisphotos, databases
We just had our budget approved so we can go ahead and order some pretty cool new databases!
Historical New York Times
We are getting the Historical New York Times. This means that the SVA community will have access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2003. (We’ll still have our subscription to current issues). Researchers who use the database will find ‘not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements, but also historical photos, stock photos, and advertisements’.
JSTOR
Our JSTOR subscription will allow students, faculty and staff online access to 150 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities.
We are working to have everything ready and available for the start of the fall semester.
www.sva.edu/library
Categories: Tools & Resources
Tagged: databases, reference, research