Nelson Mandela, RIP

mandela-cover-580

Image by Kadir Nelson from next week’s New Yorker cover

“As I walked out the door toward the gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn’t leave my bitterness and hatred behind, I’d still be in prison,” – Nelson Mandela
The world lost a vital figure today with the passing of Nelson Mandela. Through his long struggle to liberate South Africa from Apartheid, including 27 years in prison, and his inspiring words, he came to symbolize the movement against global oppression.

To explore Mandela’s life and legacy further:

Nelson Mandela : the authorized comic book / Nelson Mandela Foundation with Umlando Wezithombe – DT1974 .N47 2009


Conversations with myself / Nelson Mandela. – DT1974 .A3 2010


Long walk to freedom : the autobiography of Nelson Mandela / Nelson Mandela – DT1949.M35 A3 1995


Nelson Mandela’s favorite African folktales [sound recording] – ZSd M363 Nels

Leave a Reply

